Introduction

Tired of square shapes, straight lines and sharp angles? Turned off by cool, harsh lighting and cold, high-tech design?

Well, I am! For as long as I can remember, I’ve been attracted to soft, organic shapes and repelled by classic architecture, furniture and design; it’s just not my cup of tea.

I’m sure I can’t be alone on the planet to have visions of a world of flowing, organic design, friendly interaction and harmonious living? Who keeps wondering why cars get more aerodynamic but not houses, even though we now have the technology and materials to build any shape or form?

Organically designed houses are usually more environmentally friendly, cheaper to heat, less wind-catching if tall, more stable in the event of a natural disaster, besides feeling more cosy to live in and fitting better into natural environments. OK, they may be trickier to furnish, but such problems can be solved.

Great introduction to the principles in organic arcitecture, which I found it very informative and inspiring: Organic architecture

And a wikipedia article for the newbie.

Next, I’ll be posting links to some of my favorite organic architects and designers.

Leave a Reply

